Auto HelpMate


Mac HelpMate Logos

Secure, Unattended, Remote Access 

to a Mac from Anywhere at Any Time.

To Install Auto HelpMate on a Customer's Mac or Server:

    1. Download Mac HelpMate
    2. Copy Mac HelpMate into your main Applications Folder on your boot disk
      It must be present in the /Applications folder and launched from that location during Auto HelpMate Setup for it to work
    3. Launch Mac HelpMate
    4. Authenticate as the machine's local Admin user
    5. Choose "Auto HelpMate" from the Get Support Menu
    6. Enter the contol user password from your Mac HelpMate account - the same one you use to control your customers' computers
    7. Make sure you enter a computer description
    8. Click "Add." If all goes well, you'll get the message that the computer has been registered with the Auto HelpMate Connection manager. Note: if you wish to update Auto HelpMate, just repeat this process with the newer version of Mac HelpMate
    9. Check with the Mac HelpMate Quick Connect Menulet (the red cross in your menu bar) to verify that Auto HelpMate is enabled
    10. Verify that the machine is registered in the Auto HelpMate connection manager by going to  https://www.autohelpmate.com and logging in with your control user name and password

To Activate Screen Sharing Using Auto HelpMate:

    1. Navigate to https://www.autohelpmate.com and log into the connection manager
    2. Click Enable next to the machine so it reads "YES" Note: if you have one concurrent session with your Mac HelpMate subscription (which is true for most subscribers) **do not** enable more than one computer at one time, and be sure to disable **all** computers when you're done controlling
    3. If no one is logged into the computer, you will see the login window. Proceed to log in as any user whose credentials you have. You will not be disconnected and will be in control of their Desktop. Note: logging out **will** disconnect your session, as will fast user switching. If you want to switch users, log out, disable the machine in the connection manager and wait until the sessions clears, then enable it again and repeat the process by controlling and logging in at the Login Window as the desired user.

To De-Activate and End Your Auto HelpMate Session:

    1. Navigate to https://www.autohelpmate.com
    2. Click Disable next to the machine record so it reads "NO"
    3. Log out of the connection manager

Important Notes:

  • If you have one concurrent session with your Mac HelpMate subscription (which is true for most subscribers) **do not** enable more than one computer at one time, and be sure to disable **all** computers when you're done controlling so that when you go to share the screen of another workstation neither session will be terminated
  • If you choose to rename Mac HelpMate don't include anything but standard characters and numbers, no trademark, copyright or any other special characters
  • For security purposes, it's **not** a good idea to save your control username and password in the keychain for Safari or Camino or the password manager of Firefox. That way, if your computer is comprimised, your customers' machines will remain secure.

Troubleshooting Auto HelpMate

  • Verify that Auto HelpMate is enabled in the Mac HelpMate Quick Connect Menulet
  • Make sure that Mac HelpMate is in the main /Applications folder in your boot drive. If not, Auto HelpMate will not allow activation.
    Note: Moving Mac HelpMate to the /Applications folder after setting up Auto HelpMate won't work either. It must be present in the /Applications folder and launched from that location during Auto HelpMate Setup.
  • You can always re-run the Auto HelpMate install steps to safely update the install.
  • Check the Mac HelpMate forums for known fixes and workarounds prior to contacting MOST Technical support.